Tags

, , , , , ,

“I had some dreams there were clouds in my coffee.” Weirdest music lyric or iconic poetry? You be the judge. In the meantime, let me tell you how much I love love love Carly Simon. I know all the words to “You’re So Vain” (see video below) and I have been known to play it on the juke box at the neighborhood watering hole with dependable frequency.


I love Carly for reasons other than her incredible musical talent–mostly for her style. When I was 16, I bought her No Secrets album because I fell in love with her photo on the cover. I immediately took out the CD jacket and pinned it to my bulletin board.  Oh, that floppy hat. Not even J-Lo could pull it off with such bohemian nonchalance. Here is my brief ode to the style of 70s Carly Simon.
Enjoy!
xoxo, Shannon

AEO wooden bangle
Boho tunic
D&G gladiator lace up sandals
Anthropologie throw pillow
Paisley throw pillow

Gap shirt
Floppy hat
Girls Like Us: Carol King, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon–And the Journey of a Generation by Sheila Weller
Hemp shoulder bag
Nine West suede boots

