Tags

, , , ,

When I came across Claudia Varosio’s work on another blog, I knew I had to feature her here! Her modern, film-inspired posters are a hot commodity on etsy, and their subjects reveal Claudia’s wholehearted love of cinema (which I think is the coolest thing about them—I love people who turn a passion into a gift for the rest of us!).

The London, UK based designer describes herself in her etsy profile as, “an obsessive film fanatic trapped in the body of an identical film fanatic who is possibly even more obsessive.” As a bit of a media hound myself, I can sympathize. Her fervor is contagious and her work is inspiring. Lucky for us, Claudia was gracious enough to share a little more about herself. Thanks, Claudia! xoxo, Shannon

S: How long have you been a film fanatic?
CV: I have been a cinema fan all my life, but it’s become a much more intense affair since 2008; I don’t think I have ever watched more movies than in the past three years.

S: What is the most memorable movie watching experience you’ve had?
CV: I always enjoy watching movies outdoor, when the weather is warm enough. This doesn’t happen too often in London, but a few summers ago I had the chance to watch The Pool of London, an old black and white movie, in the very location where it had been filmed 50 years before, and that was pretty unforgettable.

S: I can tell from your work that you have many favorite films. Do you have a top three?
CV: Ohh, that’s tricky…off the top of my head, Chinatown; The Good, the Bad and the Ugly; and In the Mood for Love, but this changes all the time.

S: Is there a particular genre of film you find yourself returning to again and again?
CV: No, I’d say I enjoy most genres… however, if I had to pick one that I am not so keen on, it would be fantasy.

S: How would you describe your design aesthetic?
CV: I like bold images inspired by comic novels and vintage posters, so I guess that would be it.

S: What are your hobbies and interests outside of film?
CV: I enjoy cooking, baking, reading, cycling, walking, traveling, going to art exhibitions and parks.

S: If you were stranded on a desert island, which five things couldn’t you live without?
CV: OK, without cheating too much: a pencil; paper; a never-ending stash of chocolate; a fair amount of books; and a phone with internet connection.

Check out more of Claudia’s work at her etsy shop.

