Tags

, ,

Dismy’s

Happy Wednesday! I’m usually posting about every day but this week has gotten away from me somehow. Between writing assignments and buying a new car, plus random household activities (laundry, dishes, dusting, oh it’s an exciting existence I’ve led lately), I’ve barely had a free moment. But when I have stolen some time to myself, I’ve been reading Jane Austen’s Persuasion.

I have to admit that it took me a while to come around to the brilliance of Austen novels. Until college, I pretty much considered Austen to be the chic lit of classic literature. I prefer the darker atmosphere of the Brontes. But now that I’ve read (and re-read) Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey, and now Persuasion, I’ve had a change of heart.

There’s something so romantic about Austen’s settings that has really drawn me in. Aside from an in-depth examination of the intimacies of nineteenth century society, Austen presents an atmosphere that brings to mind idle walks through city parks and country lanes bordered by wildflowers, English cottages by the sea, and, one of my favorite monuments of historical design, the English country house. But that’s another post entirely.

Meanwhile, here’s an ode to Austen style. (If you want to learn more about it, I recommend this.) Thanks for stopping by! xoxo, Shannon

Toile wallpaper
Bronze Candelabra

18th century-style mirror

Chesterfield sofa

Quill and inkwell
Butterfly print

Tea table

Etagere

Traditional rug

And some extra inspiration:

Above images from Home Interior Design Themes

If you want to see Jane’s actual house, go here.


