Tags

, , , ,

I came across Josefina Bolano’s photography via her etsy shop a few weeks ago. Her images and design work are, in a word, lovely.

Her shop is filled with images of nature, dreamy cityscapes, and silhouettes. The colors she uses in her design work are almost fantastical—light blues and greens and sepia tones that create a reflective mood.

I had to find out more about how this Barranquilla, Colombia native works. Luckily, she was happy to share more about herself and her photography.

Thanks, Josefina!

How did you embark upon a career in photography?
My dad got a new camera 6 years ago, and one day I took the camera in my hands, I went to the backyard, I saw a hose and I released the shutter. It all began as a hobby, I had no knowledge at all. Last year (2010), I decided to go pro. I’m studying at NYIP (New York Institute of Photography).

How would you describe your design concept?
Clean and minimal…

Which is your favorite kind of camera to use?
I’ve been using the same camera for 6 years, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ30, I also had a Cybershoot.

What do you love most about the work you do?
Everything—there’s nothing I can say I love the most. I love the moment I’m holding my camera looking around, and everywhere I look, I see a photograph. I love when I turn on my computer to see the photos I took, and I love the moment I’m editing.

Do you collect work by other photographers? Do you have a favorite?
I like Jose Villa, and sometimes I check piccsy.com, tumblr, and vi.sualize.us.

What are your passions and interests outside of photography?
Graphic design, and fooling around with friends. I love ice cream…It’s kinda’ hard not to say photography…

Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five things can’t you live without?
1.   Camera
2.   iPod Touch
3.   Blackberry
4.   Macbook
5.   Eyeliner

What else should people know about you?
Everything I know, and everything I’ve done, it’s because God has gave me the talent to do it. Everything I am is because of Him. There’s nothing you can’t learn by yourself. I’m very empirical and almost everything I know I’ve learned myself.

For more about Josefina and her photography, check out her Web site: josefinabolano.com and her etsy shop: Josefina Bolano Fine Art Photography. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Thanks again, Josefina!
xoxo, Shannon

