Tags

, , ,

It’s still April, and that means I’m not too awfully late to celebrate National Poetry Month. It’s the time of year when writers and readers everywhere get together and recall poetry’s prominence in human history. And, if they’re like me, they drink wine and read some of their favorite poems.

Here’s where some of mine come from.

poetryclockwise from top left: Wordsworth, William Carlos Williams, Elizabeth Bishop, Will Shakespeare, Sylvia Plath, Mary Oliver

There are just too many to name here. Isn’t that 60’s edition of Ariel awesome? I was an English major in college and focused on poetry throughout my major. I read a lot of Plath and I remember one day reading a poem of my own aloud in class. Afterward, my prof. said, “You’ve been reading too much Sylvia Plath,” and handed me a volume of Billy Collins poetry. Right. I still think of that moment whenever I need to lighten up.

In addition to my love of poetry, reading and writing it, I obsessively design (in my gypsy mind) the perfect writing nook. So, I’ll complete my musings here with a collection of inspiration — cozy places to write.

From Coastal Living
imagine having the beach right outside that door. Ahh….

Everything (and everything lovely) at your fingertips here.

So sweet.

Great gallery wall here. I think art always makes clean, white rooms feel cozier.

Retro modern twist with a gorgeous wall color.

Gender neutral and man, I’d fall asleep writing in that fuzzy chair.

Writing with friends, from Elle Decor.

Industrial chic. I prefer writing at a big table anyway.
Lots of room to spread out.

Love these quirky stripes.

And a round-up of some things to deck out
your fantasy writing nook.

writingnookroundup1. Dunes and Duchess lamp 2. Primrose and Plum memo board 3. Sugar Paper desk calendar 4. shelflife paper clips from CB2 5. Sharpie 24-pack 6. light bulb clock print 7. English Demilune Desk from Restoration Hardware 8. handmade journal 9. decorative tape from TapeSwell 10. Panama magazine basket 11. Ikea Skruvsta chair 12. Butterfly thank you notes from Papyrus 13. Natural magazine files 14. Hammerpress decorative ornaments 15. owl pencil holder

It’s an admittedly feminine scheme.

Oh, here’s a wonderful (and very famous) poem by Mary Oliver, in case you’d like to indulge in a poetry moment in honor of NPM. It’s one of my favorites.

Thanks for stopping by!
xoxo, S

