Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

photo via blogger and ace photographer Mina
at Bohemian Vintage

Oh mama, my to-read list is long. Mostly it includes new books by fabulous designers and bloggers, as well as tomes of color and celebrations of nature.

In fact, I have pledged to myself that I am no longer allowed to go to the library and check out books unless I read the books in my own library first. It’s soooo hard. Because I always want to know what’s new.

I thought I’d share with you the volumes of design expertise that are waiting around for me to get to this spring/summer.

1. First and foremost, new book Decorate by decor8 blogger Holly Becker and coauthor Joanna Copestick. The decor8 blog claims a spot on my top 5 favorite blogs list and probably will until blogging is just something our grandchildren ask us about.

images via decor8, purchase on Amazon

2. You may have noticed I’m in to collections lately. That’s why I’m stoked for this one–Creative Walls: How to Display and Enjoy Your Treasured Collections by Selfridges home buyer Geraldine James. Yes, teach me, Geraldine.

images via Amazon and Home Shopping Spy

3. Next is Details: A Stylist’s Secrets to Creating Inspired Interiors. I’m sure author Lili Diallo had no problem filling pages. She’s pretty much a genius. She did a lot of styling for Domino (I miss you, Domino) and her own Brooklyn loft was featured in a 2009 issue of Living, etc. Check it out here.

images via Lili Diallo

4. Dwell Studio founder Christiane Lemieux just released a book, Undecorate: The No Rules Approach to Interior Design. I’m excited about this one, which promises to be filled with ideas by and for real people. That is, not just designers or people with a lot of money.

preview images here

5. Emily Chalmers is one of my favorite design writers. She’s fun, intelligent, a brilliant stylist, and knows how to take a flea market find from dusty to fabulous. She also owns a hip boutique, Caravan. That name really speaks to my boho heart. Emily’s latest book is called Modern Vintage Style.

images via Emily Chalmers

6. Last, but far from least, is Cathy Whitlock’s Designs on Film: A Century of Hollywood Art Direction. I had the pleasure of featuring Cathy on Gypsy Mind in March. In our q&a she shared her favorite movie watching experience, her favorite movies, and more about her new book. As a sort of amateur film buff, I’m stoked to read it.

images via Cathy Whitlock

And these six are only the beginning. Let me know if you have any suggestions for me.
Thanks for stopping by!
xoxo, S

