Tags

, , , , ,

via The Invention of Hugo Cabret and movie trailer

Hey! How about a new feature? This one’s about books and promises to be informative, funny, and maybe even inspiring. It’ll feature various books, authors, and illustrators I love, as well as some guest posts.

I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time because I realized recently how much the books I am reading affect my state of mind. And I mean that in a good way. I have a tendency to get heavily involved in what I’m reading, which can be lovely when reading a book like this one.

I just read The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick and being something of a movie hound, I fell in love. Anybody else?

Sadly, I wasn’t able to get to the theater in time to catch the film. I’m waiting on tenterhooks to catch it on Netflix (p.s. I just learned where that expression came from).

Hugo is a magical story. It starts off with a little boy living on his own in Paris, scraping by after a drunken uncle abandons him to operate, on his own, the many large clocks in a Paris train station. The story is filled with Parisian scenes lovingly illustrated on double-page spreads. Check out a full description here.

And here is a lovely collection of Hugo inspiration.

Gold film reel, Vintage clock, French ticket window, Silver key charm, bronze film reel, mechanical mouse

xoxo, Shannon

