Tags

, , , , ,

Put this book by Jon Klassen in your Biblio-file. I recommend it to anyone who needs a chuckle, kid or no. It’s about a bear whose hat is missing. He asks all the animals he meets in the forest if they’ve seen his hat. There are a couple of jokes going on in the illustrations (which are wonderful) and kids especially will be delighted to be in on them. I know my Little Guy was.

The repetitive nature of the book makes it a good choice for preschool children. I read one Amazon review by a grandfather who was scandalized by the ending, but a) this is part of nature, kids. And b) perhaps more importantly,  it’s part of the fun of the story–a good shock at the end to leave you amazed. I gave it to JD and could here him chuckling to himself from down the hall.      

xoxo, Shannon

