Tags

, , ,

(Danielle modeling one of her creations, “You’re Lovely”)

I am thrilled to welcome Danielle Spurge to Gypsy Mind. The Boston, Mass., crafter is an inspiration to me, since I’m an aspiring crafter and complete needle-art fanatic. Her designs are colorful and modern. I could hardly decide what to feature here. Check them out at her etsy shop, The Merriweather Council.

vintage chair, initial necklace on polka-dot fabric, initial necklaces

And guess what. She’s a cool person too. I knew she would be.

Have you been formally trained as an artist?
Yes, I have been formally trained as an artist. I recieved my BFA in 3d fine arts with a concentration in fibers. I graduated in 2010.

Have you always loved making things? What do you love most about it?
Yes, I have most certainly always always loved to make things. I like the idea of being able to create your ideal object or something that wouldn’t otherwise or doesn’t currently exist! I also really love to use my hands to build things.

patchwork fabric ornament, “Tea Time” wall art, wishbone stitch circle

How did you embark upon a career as a crafter?
It is a pretty funny story actually, I was supposed to go on to another university after my undergrad program to work toward an MFA but a lot of things went wrong and I ended up not going. That decision was made approximately four days before my college graduation. After that I felt I had a lot of freedom to try to start up my own business now that i was no longer tied to anything and had no job prospects because I had not been looking for one. I have been doing Merriweather Council full time since then!

How would you describe your design aesthetic?
I like simple designs that are also interesting. I think overall what I do is take something very old school and make it modern and fun and youthful.

What was the last book you read? Did you like it?
The last book I read was The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks. Super corny, but yeah, I loved it.

Name three things that inspire you…
traveling, colors, and shopping for supplies

What are your hobbies and interests outside of your work?
I have a very intense passion for boyband music, and I love to see all of my favorite artists (boyband and otherwise) live in concert. I also have other crafts I enjoy such as knitting but I don’t do it much. I like to listen to podcasts and watch historical/period movies on Netflix.

Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five things can’t you live without? 
Ahh–I hope this never happens but, besides the people I would want there with me, I think defintiely an embroidery needle, thread, fabric, a hoop and my iphone. 🙂

Thanks, Danielle! Do stop by The Merriweather Council and look at all the lovely things I wasn’t able to include here.

xoxo, Shannon

