Tags

, , ,

I am pleased to host Rubyellen Bratcher, Southern Cali blogger, seamstress, crafter, and dedicated mama. She’s the creator of one of my very favorite blogs, Cakies. Cakies is a wellspring of crafty/fashion/decor ideas beautifully photographed and presented by Rubyellen. I was lucky enough to have the chance to pick her brain a bit about blogging, crafting, and love of all things vintage.

from Rubyellen’s post on the righteous window coverings she divined from burlap and cheesecloth

What spurred you to start Cakies? How did you decide what the focus of the blog would be? And, what does the name mean? 
I wanted to start documenting the sewing I was doing for my two little girls (at the time) and I also just started selling items at local shops. Initially, it was just my craft blog, but since then, it has grown into so much more. It’s more about a slice of my life… a little craft, a little food, a little style, but all things that make me really happy. Cakies comes from babycakies, which is what we called our babies when they were in my tummy.

Rubyellen’s kiddos made these.

Have you always loved making things? What do you love most about it?
I love to make things. Ever since I was a little girl, I was always making or drawing. I think it is the process of having an idea and then the process to see that idea come to fruition that is amazing. It is like making small dreams come true. You think of it, then make, and there you go!

How would you describe your design aesthetic?
Fun and playful and lots of color. I am so girly and have four girls, so there is an abundance of doll making and girly things going on in our house.

My personal favorite of Rubyellen’s many lovely DIYs.

Where did you get your love of vintage-y goodness?  
When I was 16, my mom and I found this vintage shop called Vintage Dreams. Ever since then, I was hooked on the vintage style.

Name three things that inspire you in general…
color, the things my girls make, books

What are your hobbies and interests outside of blogging? 
I love running, reading, drawing, gardening, and now I want to pick up cycling. My husband says I have way too many hobbies.

Rubyellen’s lovely home (and her daughter, Brave, on the sofa).

Anything else you’d like to add:
The main thing I have learned in blogging is that you must blog for yourself and love it. If you love it, then you will blog regardless if you have 1 reader or 1 million readers. If you don’t love it, then don’t do it.

Well said. Thanks very much, Rubyellen. It’s been lovely! If you haven’t already, check out Cakies here.

xoxo, Shannon

