Tags

, , , ,

The image above is from Lark & Linen, a fantastic blog written by Toronto interior designer Jacquelyn Clark. Toronto is lucky to have her! And we are lucky she stopped by to talk design.

Have you been formally trained as an artist/designer? (If so, where, and which degrees do you have?)
I received my Bachelor of Design at OCAD and have since become LEED accredited. I’m currently working on my NCIDQ (my official license. In Ontario you need your NCIDQ in order to legally call yourself an Interior Designer).
 
 
 
How long have you been blogging? What do you love most about it?
I’ve been blogging for a little over two years. My love for blogging is two-fold. I adore the creative freedom it allows me and the community that it provides. I have met so many amazing like-minded people through my blog. It’s been a wonderful outlet in every way!
 
What’s the concept behind Lark & Linen?
Lark & Linen showcases anything and everything that strikes my fancy. From food to interiors to bits and pieces of my own world, it’s become my little inspirational corner.
 
 
 
How would you describe your design aesthetic? 
I like to refer to my aesthetic as simple, uncomplicated, liveable, useable design. I am constantly drawn to places and things that, while stunning to look at, also beg to be touched, played with and loved. My biggest pet peeve is things that are over-designed. Nobody wants to feel as if they’re living in a museum.
 
 
You showcase some great recipes on Lark & Linen. Do you have a favorite right now?
My no-knead rustic bread is my very favourite recipe. It consists of four ingredients that literally take moments to toss together in the evening. The next morning you plop the thing in the oven, and play the waiting game while it does it’s thing. You’re left with insanely delicious rustic bread that just can’t be beat.
 
Name three things that inspire you…
Nature, my mom and my friends (I have some pretty wicked people in my life)
 
What are your hobbies and interests outside of your work?
Travel is absolutely number one for me. Not a day goes by where I don’t wish I was out exploring some tiny town or some rolling countryside. Other than that, I am a huge fan of yoga, brunching (that’s a hobby, yes?) and I’ve recently started getting back into painting (a leisurely activity that was lost once I attended art school and it became homework).
 
Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five things can’t you live without?
Oh man I am so bad at these types of questions. If I had to chose: my boyfriend, Justin, chapstick, good quality tea, a comfy bed and dessert.
 
Anything else you’d like to add:
Thanks for having me!
 
Thank you for stopping by, Jacquelyn!
 
xoxo, Shannon
